Global Ministries

The United Methodist Church

Connecting the Church in Mission

Communications and Development

The Communications and Development unit is committed to creating resources, sharing stories, and securing financial resources to connect the church in God’s mission.

The Advance is an accountable, designated giving arm of The United Methodist Church that ensures 100 percent of each gift is used for its intended mission or ministry.The development department secures funding for priority mission emphases within Global Ministries and UMCOR by cultivating new and existing individual donors for both planned and major gift support.

Utilizing multimedia tools, the communications department develops and implements clear, consistent, and engaging strategies that enhance the church’s understanding of global mission.

Rev. Shawn Bakker
Communications & Development, Deputy General Secretary, 212-870-3791, sbakker@umcmission.org
Ben Rhodes
Associate General Secretary, Communications & Development, brhodes@umcmission.org
Amanda Mountain
Strategic Partnerships Manager, amountain@umcmission.org
Andrea Ramprashad
Andrea Ramprashad Project Liaison ARamprashad@umcmission.org
Andy Corkill
Executive Secretary, Major Gifts and Planned Giving Officer acorkill@umcmission.org
Becky Harrell
South Central Jurisdiction, Mission Interpreter, miscj@umcmission.org
Brenda Carr
Project & Special, Events Manager, bcarr@umcmission.org
Charissa Shawcross
North Central Jurisdiction, Mission Interpreter, mincj@umcmission.org
Christie House
Editor of New World Outlook, & Staff Writer, chouse@umcmission.org
Christopher Tricomi
Digital Production Administrator, ctricomi@umcmission.org
Connie Legon
Production Coordinator, clegon@umcor.org
Darcy Quigley
Staff Editor, dquigley@umcmission.org
David Malloy
AC Liaison/Church Relations Coordinator, dmalloy@umcmission.org
Don Temples
Director of Fund Development, dtemples@umcmission.org
Ellen Knudsen
Director of Advance Projects, eknudsen@umcmission.org
Emily Miller
Associate General Secretary, Communication & Development, emiller@umcmission.org
Governor Mays
South Central Jurisdiction, Mission Interpreter, miscj@umcmission.org
Hal Sadler
Art Director, hsadler@umcmission.org
Hannah Hanson
UMCOR Gift & Church Relations Manager, hhanson@umcmission.org
Heather Deal
Development Associate, hdeal@umcmission.org
James & Bernice Keech
Southeast Jurisdiction, Mission Interpreters, misej@umcmission.org
Jay Rollins
Director of Communications & Marketing, UMCOR, jrollins@umcor.org
Jim Dwyer
Western Jurisdiction, Mission Interpreter, miwj@umcmission.org
Judith Santiago
Digital Asset Coordinator, jsantiago@umcor.org
Laura Wise
Mission Communicator, lwise@umcmission.org
Leigh Rogers
Web Content Associate, lrogers@umcmission.org
Lesmine Fairweather
Administrative Assistant, lfairweather@umcmission.org
Linda Unger
Senior Writer, lunger@umcor.org
Matthew Gallagher
Marketing Manager, mgallagher@umcmission.org
Melissa Hinnen
Director of Content & Public Information, mhinnen@umcmission.org
Paul Jeffrey
Mission Photographer pjeffrey@umcmission.org
Rachel deBos
Young Adult Mission Service, Mission Interpreter, mlyams@umcmission.org
Robin Bideau
Web Producer, rbideau@umcmission.org
Ron Whitlatch
Northeast Jurisdiction, Mission Interpreter, minej@umcmission.org
Teri Tynes
Web Content Strategist/Web Team Leader, ttynes@umcmission.org
Tonya Treble
Major Gift and Planned Giving Officer, ttreble@umcmission.org
Winsome Wright
Gift Administrator, wwright@umcmission.org
Yun Nam Kang
Editor, Korean Language Resources/Translation Coordinator, ynkang@umcmission.org